Education

 


Navy CYP and Direct Step

DirectSTEP® eCourses explain legal requirements and best practices for behavior management, autism, IDEA eligibility, IEPs and more. They also teach parents and educators how to handle critical education issues to obtain positive outcomes while applying education laws to the day-to-day world of teaching and learning. These eCourses are available for use by all Sailors, parents, Military/DoD personnel assigned to Navy installations and K-12 educators serving military children. Go to http://navycyp-ds.lrp.com and self-register for eCourses. The following documents are available for download: Get Started with Direct Step | Direct Step Courses


Tutor.com For Military Families- Get Started Today!

Tutor.com, the DoD funded, free online live tutoring program for military families, is now temporarily expanding its eligibility to support DoD-affiliated personnel and their families who are being impacted by COVID-19 disruptions. Visit www.tutor.com/military for full details. Get started by downloading the following resources: Tutor.com Subjects |  Tutor.com Quick Start Guide | Tutor.com FAQ


Online Learning Resources are now available for download!

Child & Youth Education Services is providing a comprehensive list of online resources for at home/distance learning. Download now! Elementary: Grades K-5 or Secondary: Grades 6-12 


School and extracurricular activities have been suspended.  Educational resources below for kids of all ages.

The Department of the Navy does not officially endorse any company, sponsor, or their products or services.


Elementary K-5 Learning Opportunities:


Navy MWR Digital Library: The Navy MWR Digital Library provides online resources for Navy families, Sailors, retirees, and civilians for recreation, professional development, and academic support. https://www.navymwrdigitallibrary.org


4-H Stem Lab: Hands-on STEM activities. http://bit.ly/2vmDT0z


50 States: Information about U.S.A. http://50states.com


ABCya: Reading games by grade level. http://abcya.com


Ben's Guide: Elementary government studies. http://bensguide.gpo.gov


Bill Nye the Science Guy: Full length clips from 100 shows. http://youtube.com/user/TheRealBillNye/featured


Brain Pop Junior: Educational resources by subject. http://brainpopjr.com


Built By Kids: Engineering 101. http://builtbykids.com


Cbeebies: Elementary world languages. http://us.cbeebies.com


Code: Computer science. http://code.org


Cosmic Kids Yoga: Yoga and mindfulness. https://www.youtube.com/user/cosmickidsyoga 


Crash Course Kids: Grade school science. http://youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids/about 


Extra Math: Math lessons. http://xtramath.org 


Eyewitness to History: History readings/videos. http://eyewitnesstohistory.com 


Google Art Project: 1,000 works of art. http://artsandculture.google.com 


Highlights Kids: Interactive reading activities. http://highlightskids.com 


Khan Academy: Online tutoring and lessons. http://khanacademy.org 


Math Playground: Math games. http://mathplayground.com 


Math-Drills Worksheets: Free printable math worksheets. http://math-drills.com 


NASA Kids Club: Science games and activities. nasa.gov/kidsclub 


National Geographic Kids: Science experiments and lessons. http://kids.nationalgeographic.com 


PBS Kids: Educational games and videos. http://pbskids.org 


Poetry Foundation: Poems for children. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/learn/children 


Prodigy: Final Fantasy-style math game. http://play.prodigygame.com 


Read Works: Reading comprehension by grade level. http://readworks.org 


Scholastic: Day-by-day projects. https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html 


Sci Girls: PBS STEM series for kids 8-12. http://youtube.com/user/scigirlstv/about


SciShow Kids: Science concepts for young minds. http://youtube.com/user/scishowkids/featured


Scratch: Programming for ages 8-16. http://scratch.mit.edu


Scratch: Writing practice and lessons. http://scratch.mit.edu


Sesame Street: Educational games and videos. http://sesamestreet.org


Spanish Children's Stories: Free Spanish lessons and children's stories. http://thespanishexperiment.com


Storyline Online: Actors reading children's books. https://www.storylineonline.net/


The Learning Station: Music and movement. https://www.learningstationmusic.com/


Tutor.com: Online tutoring. https://military.tutor.com/home


World Atlas: Geography information. http://worldatlas.com


YouCubed: Math games and courses. http://youcubed.org


Secondary 6-12 Learning Opportunities:


Navy General Library Program: The Navy MWR Digital Library provides online resources for Navy families, Sailors, retirees, and civilians for recreation, professional development, and academic support. https://www.navymwrdigitallibrary.org/


4-H Stem Lab: Hands-on STEM activities. http://bit.ly/2vmDT0z 


BBC Languages: World languages. http://bbc.co.uk/languages 


Bill Nye, the Science Guy: Full length clips from 100 shows. http://youtube.com/user/TheRealBillNye/featured 


Brain Pop: Educational resources by subject. http://brainpop.com 


Breakout EDU: Breakout room-style learning activities. http://breakoutedu.com/funathome 


Calc Chat: Calculus problems. http://calcchat.com/ 


Code: Computer science. http://code.org 


Conjuguemos: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Korean, Portuguese, Latin. http://conjuguemos.com 


Constitution Center: Interactive Constitution resources. https://constitutioncenter.org/ 


Cool Math: Math games and lessons. http://coolmath.com 


CrashCourse: Educational videos-multiple subjects. http://thecrashcourse.com 


Extra Math: Math lessons. http://xtramath.org 


Eyewitness to History: History readings/videos. http://eyewitnesstohistory.com 


Google Art Project: 1,000 works of art. http://artsandculture.google.com 


Khan Academy: Online tutoring and lessons. http://khanacademy.org 


Kuta Software Worksheets: Printable math worksheets. http://kutasoftware.com 


Languages Online: French, Spanish, German, Italian, Latin. http://languagesonline.org.uk/Hotpotatoes 


Living Room Candidate: Political history. http://livingroomcandidate.org 


Math Playground: Math games up to 6th grade. http://mathplayground.com/games 


Math-Drills Worksheets: Free printable math worksheets. http://math-drills.com 


NMAI Native Knowledge 360: Materials and videos. http://americanindian.si.edu 


PHET Interactive: Interactive science and math simulations. https://phet.colorado.edu/ 


Poetry Foundation: Online poetry collection. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/learn/teens 


Project Gutenberg: Online library of free eBooks. http://www.gutenberg.org/ 


PurpleMath: Online math courses. https://www.mathhelp.com/pre-algebra-help 


Read Works: Reading comprehension by grade level. https://www.readworks.org/ 


Science Journal for Teens: Science research adapted for students. http://sciencejournalforkids.org 


SciShow Kids: Science concepts for young minds. https://www.youtube.com/user/scishowkids/featured 


Scratch: Programming for ages 8-16. https://scratch.mit.edu/ 


Seterra Geography: Geography quiz games. https://www.seterra.com/ 


Smithsonian History Explorer: Standards based resources. https://historyexplorer.si.edu/ 


Smithsonian Learning Lab: Interactive learning.https://learninglab.si.edu/ 


Smithsonian Online Exhibitions: Art History. https://library.si.edu/exhibitions/online 


Smithsonian TweenTribune: Reading comprehension by grade level. https://www.tweentribune.com/ 


TED Ed: Educational videos on multiple subjects. https://ed.ted.com/ 


TimeMaps: Interactive world history. https://www.timemaps.com/ 


Tutor.com: Online tutoring. https://military.tutor.com/home 


Virtual Nerd Videos: Standards-based math videos. http://virtualnerd.com/ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image-description

Relocating to the Southwest?

Moves can be stressful. We’ve gathered some important information for you to ease the transition.

image-description

Facility Directory

Use the directory to quickly locate a facility’s building or phone number and their hours of operation.

image-description

Feedback

Break the ICE! Tell us how we’re doing. Rate your experience at our facilities.

image-description

About Us

Learn more about Fleet & Family Readiness Programs and services.

image-description

Contact Us

Have a question, comment or feedback on our website, let us know.

image-description

Sponsorships

Partner with Navy MWR to enhance events for our military community while gaining valuable promotional benefits for your business.

image-description

Movies

MWR movie theaters are open to all active duty, reservists, retirees, dependents, DoD civilians, their sponsored guests, and individual contractors. Come one, come all... just come hungry! That's how we keep our movies FREE!

image-description

Tickets

Discount tickets to most Southern California attractions are available at special prices just for the military. Roller coasters, water slides and live entertainment venues are just a few of the ticket offerings.

image-description

Job Opportunities

Join our team! Check out our current Fleet & Family Readiness job openings.